Craigiehall Temple is a unique property combining a contemporary modern house with a circular stone temple originally dating from 1759 - offering a comfortable lifestyle with versatile historic Temple attached. The extensive property boasts several bedrooms with extensive wrap around gardens, superb views and a rural setting close to central Edinburgh.
The property is entered via an impressive glazed vestibule providing access to both the main accommodation and to the tower. The tower is arranged over two floors with the dining/sitting room on the ground floor linked via a spiral stone stair to the bedroom and en-suite shower room on the upper level. The main body of the house is also arranged over two floors with the reception areas on the upper floor and the bedrooms on the lower floor. This arrangement has been designed to take advantage of the stunning open views over the valley. The upper floor houses two reception rooms with access to a large balcony, as well as the spacious dining
kitchen with granite work surfaces and Oak hand-built units, which also has sliding doors providing access to a second balcony on that level. The ground floor provides the bedroom accommodation comprising three bedrooms with en-suite facilities are complemented by two further bedrooms - one of which is currently utilised as a home office. There is also a useful utility room on this level. The original tower was originally added to in 1996 and was further extended in 2005. The extended area features hand-cut Cullalo stone sourced from Stirling as well as reclaimed Scottish Slate for the roof. The original tower has an interesting history. Originally constructed in 1759, Craigiehall Temple was also known as The Leny Temple and still features a splendid pillared portico by Sir William Bruce, the architect of the Palace of Holyroodhouse. The architectural value of the Temple lies mainly in its portico. Bruce designed it for the fine mansion of Craigiehall just across the River Almond which he built for the
second Earl of Annandale whose arms are carved above the entrance.