A rarely found un-modernised and sought after house listed as Grade II* for it's outstanding interest as one of the most unique survivals of pre-Georgian houses in East London, built circa 1690. Formerly used as B1 office space but now with planning permission granted for full residential use this stunning piece of history is an opportunity to create a circa 4500 sq ft house with both front and rear garden and has unobstructed views over the V&A museum and park.
The house is arranged over a ground and two upper floors as well as a lower ground floor. With an impressive entrance via the ornate gated front garden the grandeur scale of the house is immediately apparent on entering with the central staircase and huge ceiling height. The property retains many attractive period features including sash windows, attractive timber, panelled rooms, marble fireplaces and an original full-height staircase with 'barley sugar' turned balusters on the staircase in the entrance hall.
Renowned Chris Dyson Architects proposal sensitively restores the interior spaces, reinstating and celebrating the original domestic use of the building and reinstating or revealing lost or hidden features. To the rear of the building, permission is given to demolish a poor quality 20th century rear extension to make way for contemporary, two storey extension containing living and kitchen spaces. A fully glazed connection between the modern extension and the old building exposes the rear wall of the original house, allowing the volume of the historic building to be appreciated.
Steeped in history, this house and it's neighbouring similar building appear to be the 'two adjoining tenements with orchard and garden' referred to in the 1690 abstracts of admittance for Stepney. First owned by James Grunwin, the property was bequeathed to Thomas Vickars and William Barwell in 1701, the garden behind enclosed with a wall and sold to Joseph Blissott who owned another property in Bethnal Green. The property was let to a succession of tenants throughout the 18th century, remaining relatively unchanged in footprint until the later 19th century. In 1887 the building was used by the University Club, an Anglican settlement that had been founded in Bethnal Green by theology graduates from Oxford.
The Property is in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets in the vibrant area of Bethnal Green. The property is in a highly accessible location just 2 minutes' walk from Bethnal Green underground station (central line) and approximately 1 mile from the forthcoming Whitechapel Crossrail station (opening 2018), providing high speed rail links into central London. The Property overlooks Museum Gardens, enjoying an attractive outlook across the park and is also close to Paradise Row, which has a number of emerging bars and restaurants. The area benefits from close proximity to leisure and cultural amenities at York Hall Leisure Centre, Victoria Park and the iconic Columbia Road Flower Market.